Good-bye Prudential Building! Thanks for the Memories.

This Sunday is the final day for the old Prudential building in the medical center. The building is scheduled to be imploded this weekend.

I think that it is sad that even a skyscraper can’t be sure of standing long in Houston!  The building opened in 1959.

This building brings back many fond memories to me. I can remember, as a child, being fascinated by the beautiful sculpture out front. It just seemed so other worldly and ethereal.  I was also lucky enough to actually get to go into the building itself at one time in the late 1960’s.  I was in 4-H (I think that’s what it was) and we were part of a competition putting together some type of skit. Our group did a key-stone cop routine with rag-time music and strobe lighting.  My little sister and I got to be the cops because our father was a Houston Police Officer, so we had cop uniforms to wear.  Others in the groups were the bad guys.  We performed the skit on a stage in an actual auditorium inside the building. I don’t remember a lot about the interior but I do remember that it was beautiful.

So… it will be a sad good-bye.

Click on the link below for a more extensive article from the Houston Chronicle about the upcoming demolition.  The  link also includes a slide show of other photos of the building and its history.

Good-bye Prudential Building

About leehudman

I am a fifth generation native of the city of Houston, TX. I live in the eclectic East Montrose neighborhood. I have been a full time licensed Realtor for 23+ years, so I know the real estate business and I know this city! I specialize in Houston's popular inner-loop neighborhoods.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

